Skip to main navigation Skip to main content

Fees

​The Board regrets that it is unable to offer refunds for overpayment of fees. The original check or money order will be returned to you and you will be asked to forward payment in the correct amount.

Fees charged by the Board of Dentistry are set out in 201 KAR 8:520, and are as follows. See the bottom of the page for general fees that apply to all licensees, applicants, and the public.

All fines and fees paid to the Board are non-refundable.

Dentists​

The Board regrets that it is unable to offer refunds for overpayment of fees. The original check or money order will be returned to you and you will be asked to forward payment in the correct amount.

  • Initial licensure (non-renewal year): $325
  • Initial licensure (renewal year): $175 Starting November 1st of a renewal year the application fee is $325.
  • Renewal of general dental license by December 31: $295
  • Renewal Reinstatement between January 1 and January 15: $295 + $280 = $575
  • Renewal Reinstatement between January 16 and January 31: $295 + $560 = $855
  • Renewal Reinstatement on or after February 1: $295 + $1,120 = $1,415
  • Initial dental anesthesia or sedation permit: $250
  • Renewal of a dental anesthesia or sedation permit: $75
  • Specialty license application fee: $100
  • Renewal of a specialty license: $50 in addition to general dental license renewal fee
  • Reinstatement of a properly retired general dental license: $350
  • Reinstatement of a properly retired specialty license: $50 in addition to general dental license reinstatement fee
  • Initial dental anesthesia or sedation Facility Certificate: $250
  • Renewal of a dental anesthesia or sedation Facility Certificate: $75

Dental Hygienists

The Board regrets that it is unable to offer refunds for overpayment of fees. The original check or money order will be returned to you and you will be asked to forward payment in the correct amount.

  • Initial licensure (non-renewal year): $125
  • Initial licensure (renewal year): $75 Starting November 1st of a renewal year the application fee is $125.
  • Renewal of dental hygiene license by December 31: $110
  • Renewal Reinstatement between January 1 and January 15: $110 + $130 = $240
  • Renewal Reinstatement​ between January 16 and January 31: $110 + $260 = $370
  • Renewal Reinstatement on or after February 1: $110 + $520 = $630
  • Dental hygiene anesthesia registration: $50
  • Dental hygiene general supervision registration: $50
  • Dental hygiene intravenous access line registration: $50
  • Dental hygiene laser debridement registration: $50
  • Reinstatement of a properly retired dental hygiene license: $125

Registered Dental Assistants

  • Intravenous access line registration: $50

Dental Laboratories

Effective June 18, 2014, all Dental Laboratories doing business in Kentucky are required to register with the Kentucky Board of Dentistry. The initial registration and renewal fees are​ $150 for each laboratory.

General Fees

  • Verification of a license: $40
  • Duplicate license: $25
  • Contact lists (either dentist, dental hygienist, or registered dental assistant): $100 for not-for-profit use; $1,000 for profit use
  • National Practitioner Data Bank query: $25
  • Returned check or rejected electronic payment fee: $25