# **Kentucky Board of Dentistry**

Minutes of Board Meeting January 12th, 2019

The meeting was called to order at 9:00 a.m.

#### **Roll Call-**Crystal Holloway

<u>Members Present:</u> Bradley Fulkerson DMD, Jason Ford DMD, Lucas Bowen DMD, Christopher Mattingly DMD, Tonia Socha-Mower RDH, Donna Ruley RDH, Geoffrey Ball DMD, Mariam Fallahzadeh DMD

<u>Ex-Officio Members Present:</u> Tim Daugherty, DMD (University of Louisville) and Joseph Evans, DMD (WKU)

Also Present: Crystal Holloway, KBD Staff, Cindy Effinger, Legal Counsel, Beth Nicely, (Executive Director of KY Dental Hygienists Association), Mary Jones RDH (Bluegrass Community and Technical College), Jennifer Hash, Nick Ising DMD, Rick Whitehouse (Executive Director, KDA), Ellen Wells and Sean Murphy (American Association of Orthodontist).

Board Members Absent: Louis Beto DMD and Yvonne Bach

<u>Ex-Officio Absent:</u> Julie McKee, DMD (Department for Public Health) and Deborah Ray DMD (University of Kentucky)

The minutes of the November meeting were reviewed and approved. A motion was made by Brad Fulkerson DMD to approve the minutes. This motion was seconded by Geoffrey Ball DMD. All were in favor and the minutes were approved.

**LEGAL REPORT-** Cindy Effinger, Legal Counsel Nothing to Report

#### **CHAIR REPORT- Dr. Bradley Fulkerson**

- 1) FBI Criminal History Record- Increase for FBI Background has been changed on the website
- 2) State Board Examiners State Board Examiners would like Board Participation, only as an observer. Tonia Socha-Mower will participate and Geoffrey Ball DMD may participate. A letter will be sent with names of those board members attending, this event is in October 2019.
- **3) ProCard** Finance stopped administering the ProCard (Procurement Credit Card) and all administration moved to Public Protection Cabinet (PPC). We had a backlog of application due to no

ProCard. We received the ProCard in late December and the backlog has been cleared and up-to-date.

## 4) Board Meeting Dates:

Motion made by Brad Fulkerson DMD to set Board Meeting dates for the rest of the year for March 16<sup>th</sup>, May 18<sup>th</sup>, July 13<sup>th</sup>, September 14<sup>th</sup> and November 2<sup>nd</sup>, 2019. Motion was seconded by Christopher Mattingly DMD. All were in favor of the motion.

**5) Expiring Regulations**- Advisory Opinions regulations will expire in July, Lucas Bowen DMD and Christopher Mattingly DMD will be looking at those regulations for any changes that need to be made\ and report back to the Board.

Charitable Dental Practices regulations are also expiring, Louis Beto and Mariam Fallahzadeh will be looking at those regulation for any changes that need to be made and report back to the Board.

### **Committee Chair Updates**

Statutes Committee: Serving on the committee are: Brad Fulkerson, DMD, Christopher Mattingly DMD, Yvonne Bach, Tonia Socha-Mower, RDH and Donna Ruley, RDH, Dr. Julie McKee, Mary Ann Burch and Dr. Robert Zena. The statutory committee has not met since last board meeting 11/3/2018.

<u>SDF Committee:</u> There is been no meeting since last board meeting 11/3/2018.

<u>Prescribing Committee</u>: Serving on the committee are: Dr. Jason Ford, Yvonne Bach, Dr. Geoffrey Ball and other interested parties such as Jerry Caudill (Avesis) and Rick Whitehouse (KDA). Motion made by Dr. Geoffrey Ball DMD to approve in draft form the regulations for Prescribing and Dispensing to be sent to LRC for editing and/or approval.

Sedation and Anesthesia Committee: Serving on the committee are: Dr. Jason Ford, Dr. Louis Beto and Dr. Lucas Bowen. Lucas Bowen DMD stated that are revising a form and will have an update at the March Board Meeting. Donna Ruley RDH wants to look at Section 3 concerning Dental Hygienist. Lucas Bowen DMD wants the board to look at the regulations and write down any concerns for the next meeting.

<u>Tele Dentistry Committee:</u> Serving on the committee are: Dr. Robert Zena, Dr. Julie McKee, Tonia Socha-Mower RDH, Dr. Christopher Mattingly, Donna Ruley RDH, Dr. William Rich and Dr. Jerry Caudill. The regulations for Tele Health will go into effect July 2019. Tonia Socha-Mower seats in on the Wednesday morning meeting via conference call. She stated that they have been coming up with definitions relating to Telehealth.

Motion made by Brad Fulkerson DMD to go into Executive Session under KRS 61.810 (f)(g). Motion was seconded by Jason Ford DMD. All were in favor of the motion.

Motion made by Brad Fulkerson DMD to offer Jeffrey Allen the position of Executive Director. The motion was seconded by Jason Ford DMD. All were in favor of the motion.

Motion made by Brad Fulkerson DMD to offer Amanda Walker Croft the position of Executive Director if Jeffrey Allen declines. The motion was seconded by Jason Ford DMD. All were in favor of the motion.

Motion was made by Brad Fulkerson, DMD for adjournment. The motion was seconded by Geoffrey Ball DMD. All were in favor of the motion.

The meeting adjourned at 11:15am