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MEMORANDUM

TO: All Dentist and Dental Hygienist Licensees and Licensure Applicants
FROM: Kentucky Board of Dentistry
RE: Suspension of Licensure Provisions Pursuant to Executive Orders 2020-243 and 2020-257

DATE: April 17, 2020

On March 6, 2020 Gov. Beshear issued Executive Order 2020-215 declaring a state of emergency in
Kentucky related to the COVID-19 pandemic. This was followed by several additional orders, many of
which affect dental health professionals and their patients. Among them are requirements that state
agencies, including licensing boards, take actions necessary to ensure appropriate social distancing while
continuing to provide necessary services to the public. Further, any statutes or regulations in conflict
with this mandate are to be suspended.

Therefore, in response to, and under the authority of, Executive Order 2020-243 (March 18, 2020) and
Executive Order 2020-257 (March 25, 2020), the Board of Dentistry announces the following changes to
the relevant statutes and administrative regulations, which will be in effect for the duration of the
declared state of emergency:

1. KRS 313.035(3) — Existing statute allows specialists to practice general dentistry during a “declared
disaster by order of the Governor.” This memo confirms that the current state of emergency
announced in Executive Order 2020-215 shall qualify as a “declared disaster.” Licensed specialists
can now practice general dentistry while the state of emergency is in effect; however, as per order of
the Cabinet for Health and Family Services, they may only do so in an urgent or emergent capacity.

2. 201 KAR 8:532, Section 2 — The requirements for licensure by examination shall be amended to allow
applicants who have not yet completed the clinical examination requirement of subsection (2) of this
section to apply for a provisional dentist license. Provisional licenses will be issued at the discretion
of the board under the following conditions:

a. All other licensure requirements of Section 2 shall have been met to be considered for a
provisional dentist license;

b. Provisional dentist license holders shall only practice under the direct supervision of a dentist
with no less than five years of experience as a licensed practitioner; and
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c. All provisional dentist licenses, regardless of the date of issue, shall expire 90 days after the
Cabinet for Health and Family Services’ order to suspend elective procedures has been rescinded,
at which time a clinical examination must have been successfully completed for a provisional
license to be converted to full dentist license.

3. 201 KAR 8:532, Section 10(1)(c) and KAR 8:532, Section 6(1)(c) — The requirement that dentists and
dental hygienists maintain no more than a 30 day lapse in cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR)
certification shall be suspended until 90 days after the Cabinet for Health and Family Services’ order
to suspend elective procedures has been rescinded.

4. 201 KAR 8:550, Section 19(1)(b) and (2)(b) — The requirement that sedation permit holders maintain
an unexpired Advanced Cardiac Life Support (ACLS) or Pediatric Advanced Life Support (PALS)
certification shall be suspended until 90 days after the Cabinet for Health and Family Services’ order
to suspend elective procedures has been rescinded.

5. 201 KAR 8:562, Section 2 — The requirements for licensure by examination shall be amended to allow
applicants who have not yet completed the clinical examination requirement of subsection (2) of this
section to apply for a provisional dental hygienist license. Provisional licenses will be issued at the
discretion of the board under the following conditions:

a. Allother licensure requirements of Section 2 shall have been met to be considered for a
provisional dental hygienist license;

b. Provisional dental hygienist license holders shall only practice under the direct supervision of a
dentist with no less than five years of experience as a licensed practitioner; and

c. All provisional dental hygienist licenses, regardless of the date of issue, shall expire 90 days after
the Cabinet for Health and Family Services’ standing order to suspend elective procedures has
been rescinded, at which time a clinical examination must have been successfully completed for
a provisional license to be converted to full license.

6. 201 KAR 8:571, Section 2(2)(e) ~ The requirement that dental assistants have an unexpired
cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR) certification on file shall be suspended until 90 days after the
Cabinet for Health and Family Services’ order to suspend elective procedures has been rescinded.

7. All other Continuing Education requirements contained in 201 KAR 8 for licenses, permits,
certifications and/or registrations shall be extended for 90 days after their original deadlines.
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