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FAQs: Return to Non-Urgent/Emergent Dental Care

What date was non-urgent/emergent dental care in Kentucky allowed to resume?

On April 23, Governor Beshear and Commissioner Stack announced that non-urgent and non-
emergent dental care would be included in Phase | of the Healthy at Work initiative for
restarting Kentucky's economy. This became effective on April 27 with a memo from the
Cabinet for Health and Family Services formally rescinding its previous order to postpone
elective dental procedures.

When does the 90-day temporary license for recent graduates expire?

As per the Board of Dentistry’s April 17 memo, all provisional dental licenses, regardless of the
date of issue, shall expire 90 days after the order that occurred on April 27. Provisional licenses
are currently set to expire on Saturday, July 25, 2020, pending further board action.

Providing test results with 72 hours will be hard to meet. Is this a requirement?

Testing and contact tracing are ideal but not readily available at this time. Robust screening
must be used when testing is not available. More recommendations may come as testing
becomes more available and results have faster turnarounds.

Are fit tests currently required for N95 masks?

On April 8, the U.S. Department of Labor issued a memo providing for enforcement discretion
and other temporary OSHA guidance for N95 fit-testing during the COVID-19 outbreak. For
more guidance on masks, visit the ADA's Understanding Mask Types.

What should I do if the N95 masks | received do not look like other N95 mask?
We recommend contacting your local health department. Also, please view the CDC’s page on
identifying NIOSH-approved respirators.

How can we go can to work if CDC guidelines still say we should only provide emergent care?
As of May 19, the CDC's COVID-19 Guidance for Dental Settings has been updated to provide
for non-urgent/emergent care. Further, these particular guidelines have never been
mandatory. Kentucky law requires that oral health professionals follow the CDC's Guidelines
for Infection Control in Dental Health-Care Settings. Gov. Beshear, with guidance from the
Kentucky Dept. for Public Health, has determined the risk to oral health professionals can be
mitigated with these existing protocols being supplemented by the Cabinet for Health and
Family Services' Phase | memo and further expanded on in our own guidelines.

Do we need face shields or will L3 masks with eye protection work?

Face shields or eye protection with side shields were already part of the CDC's Guidelines for
Infection Control in Dental Health-Care Settings. However, these were written for blood borne
disease transmission, meaning enhanced protocols for respiratory droplet transmission are
appropriate. Please consult the University of Louisville School of Dentistry's PPE matrix.



https://www.osha.gov/memos/2020-03-14/temporary-enforcement-guidance-healthcare-respiratory-protection-annual-fit
https://success.ada.org/~/media/CPS/Files/COVID/ADA_COVID19_UnderstandingMasks.pdf
https://success.ada.org/~/media/CPS/Files/COVID/ADA_COVID19_UnderstandingMasks.pdf
https://chfs.ky.gov/agencies/dph/dafm/Pages/lhd.aspx
https://dentistry.ky.gov/Documents/4-20-2020%20KBD%20Memo%20FINAL.pdf
https://chfs.ky.gov/agencies/dph/covid19/phaseIrollback.pdf
https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/hcp/dental-settings.html
https://www.cdc.gov/oralhealth/infectioncontrol/pdf/recommendations-excerpt.pdf
https://dentistry.ky.gov/Documents/Phase%20I%20Reopening%20-%20Dentistry%27s%20Plan%20w_%20Logos.pdf
https://chfs.ky.gov/agencies/dph/covid19/phaseIrollback.pdf
https://www.cdc.gov/oralhealth/infectioncontrol/pdf/recommendations-excerpt.pdf
https://dentistry-edit.ky.gov/Documents/UofL%20PPE%20Matrix.pdf
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What are the cleaning/disinfecting guidelines between patients?

We recommend using the CDC guidelines and EPA list for effective disinfectants. Dr. Stack’s
requirement for 50% of pre-covid capacity should allow for extra time in between patients and
at the end of the business day. Treatment areas should be free of items that can not be
disinfected. Additionally, high touch point areas (restrooms, break rooms, door handles, light
switches, etc.) outside of treatment rooms should be disinfected at an increased frequency.

Do we need to wear gowns?

The CDC's Standard Precautions and Guidelines for Infection Control in Dental Health-Care
Settings already require gowns for aerosol generating procedures. Please take into
consideration that these guidelines were established for blood borne pathogens and not
airborne disease, meaning that gown changes may need to occur more frequently to prevent
aerosol transmission. Please consult the University of Louisville's PPE matrix, which has been
adopted as part of our guidelines.

How do we deal with patients with >100.4F Temp? If it is not dentally related, do we have to
make them go? Or contact health department, etc.?

A patient’s medical history and current symptoms must be factored into this decision. If
temperature is likely associated with acute dental infection and no other respiratory symptoms
are reported or evident, dental treatment is recommended. Dentists should consider a referral
plan for patients who are febrile and otherwise symptomatic of COVID-19. An example of a
patient screening form is included in the ADA's Return to Work Toolkit.

What do you suggest for dental team members who are pregnant?

Information on COVID-19 during pregnancy is still very limited. If possible, take additional
precautions and limit your exposure to patients during higher risk procedures. Consult
regularly with your obstetrician for the latest recommendations based on your situation.

Should I use my high-speed handpiece, cavitron, slow-speed handpiece or air/water syringe?
During aerosol generating procedures we recommend adding clinical protocols such as HVE,
rubber dam isolation, four handed dentistry and other advanced aerosol mitigating procedures
based upon clinical judgment of the provider and the needs of the patient.

This guidance document has been made possible in collaboration with the following entities:
Kentucky Dental Association

Kentucky Dental Hygienists Association

Kentucky Board of Dentistry

Kentucky Department for Public Health

Kentucky Oral Health Coalition

University of Kentucky College of Dentistry

University of Louisville School of Dentistry
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https://www.cdc.gov/mmwr/PDF/rr/rr5217.pdf
https://www.epa.gov/pesticide-registration/list-n-disinfectants-use-against-sars-cov-2
https://www.cdc.gov/mmwr/PDF/rr/rr5217.pdf
https://success.ada.org/~/media/CPS/Files/Open%20Files/ADA_Return_to_Work_Toolkit.pdf
https://www.cdc.gov/oralhealth/infectioncontrol/summary-infection-prevention-practices/standard-precautions.html
https://dentistry-edit.ky.gov/Documents/UofL%20PPE%20Matrix.pdf
https://dentistry-edit.ky.gov/Documents/Phase%20I%20Reopening%20-%20Dentistry%27s%20Plan%20w_%20Logos.pdf



