KENTUCKY BOARD OF DENTISTRY INSTRUCTIONS FOR DENTAL LICENSURE OF FOREIGN TRAINED DENTISTS

- Applications are valid for 6 months from the date received in the Board office. If you have not been licensed by this time, you will be required to start the application process over (201 KAR 8:530 Section 15).
- All fees paid to the Kentucky Board of Dentistry are non-refundable (201 KAR 8:520 Section 5) and the fee for any returned check is \$25.00 (201 KAR 8:520 Section 3(6)). *IT IS NOT NECESSARY TO MAKE SEPARATE CHECKS FOR PAYMENT OF FEES*.
- You cannot obtain a license if you are currently subject to disciplinary action pursuant to KRS Chapter 313 which would prevent licensure.
- Check the status of the application on the website at http://dentistry.ky.gov/ and click on "STATUS SHEET."

DOCUMENTATION REQUIRED TO COMPLETE YOUR APPLICATION

1. Submit a completed and signed "Application for Dental Licensure." Use the name under which you wish to be licensed.
2. Application fee: Non- Renewal year \$325 or the Renewal year \$175 Starting November 1 st of a renewal year th application fee is \$325.
3. Provide proof of successfully completing two (2) years of post-graduate training in a CODA accredited general dentistry program.
4. You must have successfully completed Part I and Part II of the National Board Dental Examination conducted by the Joint Commission on National Dental Examinations (JCNDE).
 5. You must have successfully completed one of the following regional clinical examinations within three (3) tries: The Commission on Dental Competency Assessments (CDCA) Council of Interstate Testing Agencies (CITA) Central Regional Dental Testing Service (CRDTS) North East Regional Board of Dental Examiners (NERB) Southern Regional Testing Agency (SRTA) Western Regional Examining Board (WREB)
If you have taken a clinical examination three (3) times and failed to achieve a passing score you shall not be allowed to sit for the examination again until you have completed and passed a remediation plan approved by the board.
6. You must complete and pass the board's jurisprudence examination, which can be downloaded at http://dentistry.ky.gov/dentists/licensure.htm . You may reference all of the statutes and regulations at: http://dentistry.ky.gov/laws.htm .
7. Provide proof of having current certification in cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR) which meets or exceeds the guideline set forth by the American Heart Association. Send a copy of the front and back of the card.
8. Submit a criminal background check performed by the Kentucky State Police (KSP) and Federal Bureau of Investigation (F.B.I.). Please visit our website http://dentistry.ky.gov/Dentists/Pages/Initial-Licensure.aspx to start this process.
9. Provide proof of having passed the Test of English as a Foreign Language (TOEFL) administered by the Education Testing Service with a score of 650 on the paper-based examination or a score 116 on the internet-based examination, if English is not the applicant's native language.
10. Submit one (1) letter of recommendation from the program director of each training site. Revised $2/2017$

pra	ovide verification within three (3) months of the date of application is received at the office of the board any license to ctice dentistry held previously or currently in any state or jurisdiction. A copy of your license is not acceptable. These
mu	st be sent directly to the Board office from each jurisdiction.
	tional Practitioner Data Bank Report and AADE Clearinghouse Report. This is obtained by an electronic query done by Board. Applicants must provide a written report for any positive returns on a query.
•	An additional \$25 fee, payable to the Kentucky Board of Dentistry, is required for this report.
tha pro	oplying for licensure as a dentist who is a graduate of a non-CODA accredited dental program and it has been more in two (2) years after fulfilling all of the requirements of your post-graduate CODA accredited general dentistry ogram you must also: a license to practice dentistry in good standing in another state or territory of the United States or the District of
	umbia
	OR
	do not hold a license to practice dentistry in good standing, you must complete a board approved refresher course prior receiving a license to practice dentistry in the Commonwealth of Kentucky. For further information, contact the Board ice.
Make check	payable to: KENTUCKY BOARD OF DENTISTRY

IF YOU HAVE BEEN LICENSED IN ANOTHER STATE SINCE GRADUATION YOU MUST ALSO PROVIDE THE FOLLOWING:

312 WHITTINGTON PARKWAY, SUITE 101

LOUISVILLE KY 40222 PHONE: 502/429-7280

Mail application to: