Kentucky Board of Dentistry

Minutes of Board Meeting November 3rd, 2018

The meeting was called to order at 9:00 a.m.

Roll Call-Crystal Holloway

<u>Members Present:</u> Bradley Fulkerson DMD, Jason Ford DMD, Lucas Bowen DMD, Tonia Socha-Mower RDH, Donna Ruley RDH, Yvonne Bach, Geoffrey Ball DMD, Louis Beto, DMD, Mariam Suzanne Fallahzadeh, DMD

<u>Ex-Officio Members Present</u>: Julie McKee, DMD (Department for Public Health), Margaret Hill, DMD (in place of Tim Daugherty), (University of Louisville) and Joseph Evans, DMD (WKU)

Also Present: Crystal Holloway, KBD Staff, Cindy Effinger and Peter Rosene, Legal Counsel, Theresa Mayfield, DMD (DentaQuest, Kentucky Dental Director) and Jerry Caudill (State Dental Director of Avesis), Jeff Okeson (University of Kentucky) and Alan Wilkinson (Orofacial Pain Specialist)

Board Members Absent: Christopher Mattingly, DMD

Ex-Officio Absent: Tim Daugherty, DMD, Deborah Ray, DMD

The minutes of the September meeting were reviewed and approved. A motion was made by Brad Fulkerson DMD to approve the minutes. This motion was seconded by Jason Ford DMD. All were in favor and the minutes were approved.

LEGAL REPORT- Cindy Effinger, Legal Counsel Nothing to Report

CHAIR REPORT- Dr. Bradley Fulkerson Committee Chair Updates

<u>Statutes Committee:</u> Serving on the committee are: Brad Fulkerson, DMD, Christopher Mattingly DMD, Yvonne Bach, Tonia Socha-Mower, RDH and Donna Ruley, RDH, Dr. Julie McKee, Mary Ann Burch and Dr. Robert Zena. The statutory committee met on 11/2/2018 to set plan of meetings and deadlines.

<u>SDF Committee:</u> Meeting took place after Board Meeting. There was a discussion regarding clarification of Dental Hygienists and Assistants applying SDF. The Dentist is responsible for the hygienist and assistants because they under their direct supervision. Dr. McKee is working on guidelines for the use of SDF by the PDH. These will be brought to the committee for discussion at some point in time.

<u>Prescribing Committee</u>: Serving on the committee are: Dr. Jason Ford, Yvonne Bach, Dr. Geoffrey Ball and other interested parties such as Jerry Caudill (Avesis) and Rick Whitehouse (KDA). Dr. Ford stated that are cleaning up verbiage and any contradictions and would have another draft for the next meeting, January 12, 2019.

Sedation and Anesthesia Committee: Serving on the committee are: Dr. Jason Ford, Dr. Louis Beto and Dr. Lucas Bowen. Lucas Bowen DMD stated that are streamlining and using some ADA based guidelines. The proposed major changes would be moving from five sedation permits to two permits. They would also require that each dentist who does sedation/anesthesia have a capnography machine. They would also remove facility inspections and move to an attestation of the dentist for the facilities when dentist are renewing their licenses. Dr. Ford stated they would have another draft at the next meeting, January 12th 2019. These changes are proposed changes to regulations. Tele Dentistry Committee: Serving on the committee are: Dr. Robert Zena, Dr. Julie McKee, Tonia Socha-Mower RDH, Dr. Christopher Mattingly, Donna Ruley RDH, Dr. William Rich and Dr. Jerry Caudill. The regulations for Tele Health will go into effect July 2019. Dr. Caudill stated that CHFS will take over July 1st, 2019 and that they are taking recommended statutes and regulation by end of month. Meetings are Wednesday's at 8am. Tonia Socha-Mower volunteered to be on the calls for the meetings.

Motion made by Brad Fulkerson DMD that Tonia Socha-Mower represent the Board of Dentistry at the Tele Dentistry meetings on Wednesdays. Motion was seconded by Geoffrey Ball DMD. All were in favor of the motion.

Motion made by Brad Fulkerson DMD to go into Executive Session under KRS 61.810 (f). Motion was seconded by Jason Ford DMD. All were in favor of the motion.

Motion was made by Brad Fulkerson, DMD for adjournment. The motion was seconded by Geoffrey Ball DMD. All were in favor of the motion.

The meeting adjourned at 11:30am