# **Kentucky Board of Dentistry**

Minutes of Board Meeting March 16, 2019

The meeting was called to order at 9:00 a.m.

### **ROLL CALL** – Mr. Jeff Allen

<u>Members Present:</u> Bradley Fulkerson DMD, Jason Ford DMD, Tonia Socha-Mower RDH, Donna Ruley RDH, Geoffrey Ball DMD, Mariam Fallahzadeh DMD, Louis Beto DMD and Yvonne Bach

<u>Ex-Officio Members Present:</u> Julie McKee, DMD (Department for Public Health) and Deborah Ray DMD (University of Kentucky) and Joseph Evans, DMD (WKU)

Also Present: Cindy Effinger (KBD Legal Counsel), Beth Nicely (KY Dental Hygienists Association), Mary Jones RDH (Bluegrass Community and Technical College), Jennifer Hash, Nick Ising DMD, Rick Whitehouse (Kentucky Dental Association), Ellen Wells and Sean Murphy (American Association of Orthodontists).

**Board Members Absent:** Lucas Bowen DMD and Christopher Mattingly DMD

<u>Ex-Officio Absent:</u> Tim Daugherty DMD (University of Louisville)

Brad Fulkerson DMD introduced Jeff Allen, the new executive director of the Kentucky Board of Dentistry, who offered opening remarks.

### **MINUTES** - Bradley Fulkerson DMD

The minutes of the January meeting were reviewed with one correction noted.

Motion was made by Brad Fulkerson DMD to approve the minutes as amended. The motion was seconded by Tonia Socha-Mower RDH. All were in favor and the minutes were approved.

#### FINANCIALS – Jeff Allen

The Summary of Revenues and Expenditures as of 03/12/2019 were reviewed with no anomalies noted.

## **LEGAL REPORT** - Cindy Effinger

Nothing to Report

### **CHAIR REPORT -** Bradley Fulkerson DMD

**Election Results** – The following candidates received enough votes to be eligible for appointment or reappointment\*:

- Jeffrey "Lucas" Bowen DMD\*
- Teresa Boyd DMD
- Gerald L Fairchild DMD
- Andrew B Farmer DMD
- Christopher Herren DMD

- John Ihnen DMD
- Amy Parsons DMD
- Tonia Socha-Mower RDH\*
- Lisa Johnston RDH

Online Dental Lab Registration – Dr. Fulkerson reaffirmed the board's intent to move the registration process for dental labs online. Mr. Allen will investigate the challenges encountered when this was initially attempted and report back.

**Personnel Matters** – Dr. Fulkerson touched on the need to address personnel matters related to the staff; however, he asked that it be postponed pending additional direction from the Personnel Cabinet.

### **Committee Chair Updates**

- <u>Statutory Committee</u> Serving on the committee are: Dr. Brad Fulkerson, Dr. Christopher Mattingly, Yvonne Bach, Tonia Socha-Mower, RDH and Donna Ruley, RDH, Dr. Julie McKee, Mary Ann Burch RDH and Dr. Robert Zena. Dr. Fulkerson stated that the statutory committee has not met since the November board meeting but is expected to become active again once we get through most of the regulatory reviews and Mr. Allen has time to settle in as Executive Director.
- <u>Tele-Dentistry Committee</u> Serving on the committee are: Dr. Robert Zena, Dr. Julie McKee, Tonia Socha-Mower RDH, Dr. Christopher Mattingly, Donna Ruley RDH. Tonia Socha-Mower RDH reported that the regulations for Tele-Health will go into effect July 2019. A draft teledentistry regulation has been written and will be reviewed by the committee prior to the May board meeting.
- <u>Sedation & Anesthesia Committee</u> Serving on the committee are: Dr. Jason Ford, Dr. Louis Beto and Dr. Lucas Bowen. Dr. Ford states no progress to report regarding 201 KAR 8:550; however, an amended regulation is expected to be put before the board at the May or July meeting.
- <u>Prescribing & Dispensing Committee</u> Serving on the committee are: Dr. Jason Ford, Yvonne Bach and Dr. Geoffrey Ball. Dr. Ford reported that the amended Prescribing & Dispensing regulation 201 KAR 8:540 was submitted to the LRC but was returned to us for not being in the proper format. Mr. Allen will spearhead the formatting process and resubmit to the LRC.

**Charitable Dental Regulation -** Dr. Fallahzadeh reviewed the recommended changes to Charitable Dentistry regulation 210 KAR 8:581.

Motion made by Jason Ford MD, DMD to approve 210 KAR 8:581 as amended and to supply the Legislative Research Commission with said amendment. Motion was seconded by Jason Ford MD DMD. All were in favor of the motion.

**Advisory Opinion Regulation -** Dr. Fulkerson reported on the recommendation of Drs. Bowen and Mattingly that Advisory Opinion regulation 201 KAR 8:510 be renewed as-is.

Motion made by Louis Beto DMD to notify the Legislative Research Commission that 210 KAR 8:510 will remain in effect without amendment. Motion was seconded by Geoffrey Ball DMD. All were in favor of the motion.

Motion made by Brad Fulkerson DMD to go into Executive Session under KRS 61.810 (f)(g). Motion was seconded by Jason Ford DMD. All were in favor of the motion.

Motion made by Brad Fulkerson DMD to come out of Executive Session. The motion was seconded by Geoffrey Ball DMD. All were in favor of the motion.

Motion was made by Brad Fulkerson, DMD for adjournment. The motion was seconded by Yvonne Bach. All were in favor of the motion.

The meeting adjourned at 10:15am.