Kentucky Board of Dentistry

Minutes of Board Meeting September 8th, 2018

The meeting was called to order at 9:00 a.m.

Roll Call-Crystal Holloway

<u>Members Present</u>: Bradley Fulkerson DMD, Jason Ford DMD, Lucas Bowen DMD, Tonia Socha-Mower RDH, Donna Ruley RDH, Christopher Mattingly DMD, Yvonne Bach, Geoffrey Ball DMD, Louis Beto, DMD

<u>Ex-Officio Members Present</u>: Julie McKee, DMD (Department for Public Health), Tim Daugherty, DMD (University of Louisville), Deborah Ray, DMD (University of Kentucky) and Joseph Evans, DMD (WKU)

Also Present: Larry Brown, Executive Director, Crystal Holloway, KBD Staff, Cindy Effinger, Legal Counsel, Beth Nicely, Executive Director of KY Dental Hygienists Association, Mary Jones, RDH (Bluegrass Community and Technical College), William Rich, DMD (Dental Medicaid Director), Theresa Mayfield, DMD (DentaQuest, Kentucky Dental Director) and Jerry Caudill (State Dental Director of Avesis), Mary Ann Burch RDH, Laura Hancock Jones (KY Oral Health Coalition) and Rick Whitehouse (Executive Director, KDA)

Board Members Absent: Mariam Susanne Fallahzadeh, DMD

Introduction of New Ex-Officer Member: Joseph Evans DMD, (WKU)

The minutes of the July meeting were reviewed and approved with amendments. A motion was made by Brad Fulkerson DMD to approve the minutes. This motion was seconded by Yvonne Bach. All were in favor and the minutes were approved.

Financial Report & Biennial Budget

LEGAL REPORT- Cindy Effinger, Legal Counsel

The New KHEAA MOU was to notify licensing agencies that they are no longer going to report defaulted student loans. They were required to notify all licensing agencies of this change.

CHAIR REPORT- Dr. Bradley Fulkerson Committee Chair Updates

Statutes Committee: Serving on the committee are: Brad Fulkerson, DMD, Yvonne Bach, Tonia Socha-Mower, RDH and Donna Ruley, RDH, Dr. Julie McKee, Mary Ann Burch and Dr. Robert Zena. The statutory committee met on 9/7/2018 to set plan of meetings and deadlines. They are in agreement that they are not going to have anything ready for the first session. Once you open up the statutes they are open for everyone. They would like to have one other dentist on the committee. When the statutes are revised bring to the whole board for editing and approval.

<u>Prescribing Committee</u>: Serving on the committee are: Dr. Jason Ford, Yvonne Bach, Dr. Geoffrey Ball and other interested parties such as Jerry Caudill (Avesis) and Rick Whitehouse (KDA). Dr. Ford stated that they send out the draft they have completed to the full board for opinions and comments for the next board meeting.

<u>Sedation and Anesthesia Committee:</u> Serving on the committee are: Dr. Jason Ford, Dr. Louis Beto and Dr. Lucas Bowen. Lucas Bowen DMD stated that they re-written regulations and will be presenting the draft to the full board. The board will have a chance to review and make any necessary changes and that the discussion needs to be in a board meeting. Mr. Brown stated that there will need to be a few tweaks and try to get a final draft within 30 days. Dr. Ford then suggested that once this is complete it needs to be sent out to interested parties. Dr. Fulkerson suggested that the committee meet, then get the draft to Mr. Brown, then to the board and have a discussion and comments at the next meeting.

<u>Tele Dentistry Committee:</u> Serving on the committee are: Dr. Robert Zena, Dr. Julie McKee, Tonia Socha-Mower RDH, Donna Ruley RDH, Dr. William Rich and Dr. Jerry Caudill. The regulations for Tele Health will go into effect July 2019.

Discussion of Orofacial Pain Specialty Letter

Dr. Fulkerson stated that Dr. Okeson and Dr. Wilkinson have asked to speak at the next board meeting. Dr. Fulkerson suggested that a letter be sent to them to invite them to speak at the next board meeting.

Executive Director Report-Mr. Larry Brown

<u>KRS 13A.3102 Expiration of administrative regulations:</u> Regulations that were either certified or commissioned word changes in 2013 are considered as an update. 201 KAR 8 (Advisory Opinions) and Charitable Dental are the only regulations needing updates. Regulations will expire, ask to modify (up to 18 months) Get the letter of acceptance and they will be good for another 7 years. Forms are a part of the regulations.

Professional Learning Services Refresher Course in Connecticut- Motion made by Brad Fulkerson DMD to approve the Hygienist refresher course in Connecticut taught by Joyce Turcotte RDH, M.Ed., FAADH. Motion was seconded by Jason Ford, DMD. All were in favor of the motion. Tonia Socha-Mower, RDH was concerned that the hygienist refresher course isn't very convenient whereas the dentist have a local way to get there refresher courses. Dr. Fulkerson stated that the hygienist have always had a wait to get their refresher courses and dentist did not and that is why the board decided to create the Pathway to Licensure. Dr. Ford suggested that they try to also figure out a Hygienist Pathway to Licensure. Mr. Brown was concerned that the LEC is only made up of dentist. Dr. Fulkerson stated that

they LEC can meet and the take it to the hygienist that sit on the KBD. Tonia Socha-Mower, RDH stated that there needs to be more consistency. She also stated that the hygienist on the board represent all hygienists' and stated that it wasn't the case. The hygienist on the board are here to protect the public.

Discussion of Letter from Attorney General's Office regarding Smile Club: Dr. Henn sent a letter regarding Smile Club earlier this year and the AG's office referenced back to us. Dr. Ford suggested that we go back to AG's office and ask for legal advice and opinion, so not to get over our heads. This discussions has been tabled to the next meeting on 11/3/2018.

Motion made by Brad Fulkerson DMD to go into Executive Session under KRS 61.810 (f). Motion was seconded by Yvonne Bach. All were in favor of the motion.

Motion made by Brad Fulkerson DMD to remove Larry Brown as Executive Director of the Kentucky Board of Dentistry. Motion seconded by Chris Mattingly DMD. In favor of motion: Lucas Bowen, DMD, Yvonne Bach, Donna Ruley, RDH, and Tonia Socha-Mower RDH. Vote *Opposed* by Louis Beto DMD, Jason Ford DMD and Geoffrey Ball DMD

Motion was made by Jason Ford, DMD for adjournment. The motion was seconded by Geoffrey Ball DMD. All were in favor of the motion.

The meeting adjourned at 1:00pm.