Kentucky Board of Dentistry
312 Whittington Parkway, Suite 101
Louisville, Kentucky 40222
The Kentucky Board of Dentistry is an agency governed by the Commonwealth of Kentucky. The Board is a separate and distinct entity from any professional association. The main purpose of the Board is to protect the public by administering the Dental Practice Act and regulating the dental profession. The Board is self-supporting and receives no general tax appropriation. It is funded through fees assessed for licensing its dental professionals.
If you are a KY Dental Hygienist and you have not renewed, your LICENSE HAS EXPIRED.
You may not work until you have reinstated your license.
2014 KENTUCKY REGISTERED DENTAL HYGIENIST LICENSE REINSTATEMENT INFORMATION
Do not wait to contact staff before you complete your reinstatement.
If you need to make changes to your General Supervision/Anesthesia or other privileges - complete your reinstatement first and changes to your privileges will be made after you have completed the online reinstatement.
Please update your own contact information in the online renewal address page. You do not need to contact staff to make updates.
When reinstating your license online, please make sure you select the following when prompted to do so to complete the reinstatement:
1. View Receipt
2. Finish and Print License
3. Download License and Wallet Card
4. Print Your License (Licenses will not be mailed)
To reinstate your license, click here
After midnight on December 31, 2014, you must use the Online Reinstatement link above to reinstate your license with a reinstatement fee:
January 16-31st $370
On or after February 1st $630
NEW REGULATION REQUIRES DENTAL LABS TO REGISTER
Effective June 18, 2014, all dental laboratories doing business in Kentucky are required to register with the Kentucky Board of Dentistry. The required registration fee is $150 for each laboratory.
Effective June 18, 2014, all Kentucky dentists shall only use the services of a commercial dental laboratory that is registered with the Kentucky Board of Dentistry. All Kentucky dentists are required to include the registration number of the dental laboratory on the dentist's work order.
For a list of Kentucky approved dental labs, please look on the Dental Laboratories page on this website.
Dental Laboratories Page
Click here to read the regulation:
201 KAR 8:016
ATTENTION DENTAL LABS
The Board of Dentistry was required under the State Records Retention Law to purge and destroy all previous Lab Registration files from 2009 and earlier. Registration of laboratories was removed from the law in 2010 when the Kentucky Dental Practice Act was rewritten.
All laboratories must fill out a NEW registration form and you will be issued a NEW Registration Number.
Click below to download and print the application:
Application for Registration of Dental Laboratories
||NEW APPLICATIONS STATUS SHEET
ATTENTION GRADUATES and NEW APPLICANTS
Check here for the status of your application for licensure. Please allow two business days AFTER your application is received in our office before your name is added to the spreadsheet.
Your license will be mailed to you within two weeks after ALL of your documentation has been received in our office.
***If you are a dental hygienist and you meet the requirements for a Local Anesthesia Certificate in Kentucky, you must submit a SEPARATE application and $50 fee.
Click here for the APPLICATION***
||Frequently Asked Questions
FAQs updated 3.5.2014
Please reference the Kentucky Board of Dentistry Frequently Asked Questions for your convenience
||Requirement to Release Patient Records
A Dentist is required to release to the patient a copy of the patient's record. A dentist may not deny a written request for any reason, including unpaid fees.