Skip to main navigation Skip to main content

Initial Licensure

All persons applying for a Kentucky Dentist/Hygienist License are required to submit proof of a Kentucky State Police (KSP) and Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) Criminal Background Check to the Board as a part of their application for a license to practice dentistry in the Commonwealth.  Please click on this link for instructions for completing required background check: KSP and FBI Background Check Information and Instructions 1 11 17.pdf

​The following application is used to apply for licensure by examination or credentials, for student or faculty limited licensure, and for licensure of foreign trained dentists:

Application of Dental Licensure

The application fee is $325 in a nonrenewal year.

The application fee is $175 in a renewal year. Starting November 1st on a renewal year, the application fee is $325.

Eligibility guidelines for applicants are detailed below. Each section below also contains an instruction checklist for different types of applicants.​

All Kentucky dental licenses expire on December 31 of odd numbered years, and must be either renewed or retired by that date.

Your current license must be conspicuously posted in each of your practice locations.

The Board of Dentistry regrets that it is unable to offer refunds for overpayment of fees. The original check or money order will be returned to you and you will be asked to forward payment in the correct amount.

Jurisprudence Examination

On July 15, 2010, the statutes and regulations governing the practice of dentistry in the Commonwealth of Kentucky changed.

The following jurisprudence examination must be completed by all new applicants for dental or dental hygiene licensure.

Jurisprudence Examination

The exam must be printed out, completed,​ signed, and then mail it to the Board of Dentistry. This is an open book exam. Our Statutes and Regulations page outlines the current regulations governing Dentistry in Kentucky.

For questions that refer to the law outside of the Dental Practice Act, you may also refer to other Kentucky Revised Statutes to answer the question.

Licensure by Examination

To be eligible to apply for licensure by examination, you must meet the following requirements with no exceptions:

  • Graduated of a CODA accredited dental school, college, or department of a university
  • Successfully completed Part I and Part II of the National Board Dental Examination
  • Successfully passed within the five (5) years preceding the filing of your application one of the following regional clinical examinations: CITA, CRDTS, CDCA/NERB, SRTA, or WREB*

Due to the fact that there is currently no nationalized clinical exam, the Board interprets 201 KAR 8:532, Section 2(b) as carrying no effect. Until further notice and at such time a nationalized clinical exam is available, the Board will continue to accept the five regional clinical examinations from individuals desiring licensure by examination after July 15, 2013.

Additionally, you must prove that you meet the requirements of Sections 1 and 2 of 201 KAR 8:530E by submitting the documentation described in the following instruction checklist. This includes a Criminal Background Check. The requirements are at the bottom of this page.

Instructions for Dentist Application for Licensure by Examination

* for purposes of interpretation of this requirement, the 5 years run from the year the clinical exam was completed through the year the application for KY licensure is submitted and finalized.

Licensure by Credentials

To be eligible to apply for licensure by credentials, you must meet the following requirements with no exceptions:

  • Graduated of a CODA accredited dental school, college, or department of a university
  • Successfully completed Part I and Part II of the National Board Dental Examination
  • Successfully passed a state, regional, or national clinical examination used to determine clinical competency in a state or territory of the United States or the District of Columbia
  • Submit the affidavit below stating that you have legally been engaged in the practice of dentistry for five (5) of the past six (6) years in a state or territory of the United States or the District of Columbia if the qualifications for licensure were equal to or higher than those for licensure in Kentucky
    Affidavit for Active Practice as a Dentist

Additionally, you must prove that you meet the requirements of Sections 1 and 3 of 201 KAR 8:530E by submitting the documentation described in the following instruction checklist. This includes a Criminal Background Check. The requirements are at the bottom of this page.

Instructions for Dentist Application for Licensure by Credentials

Student Limited Licensure

Student limited licensure is available for individuals who have been accepted into a postgraduate, residency, or fellowship program in the Commonwealth of Kentucky but who do not meet the eligibility requirements for full licensure.

Individuals may apply for student limited licensure if they hold a dental degree from a non-CODA accredited institution, if they have not successfully completed the National Board Part I and II examinations, or if they have not successfully completed one of the five regional clinical examinations required for licensure by exam.

Student limited licenses automatically expire upon your exit from a postgraduate, residency, or fellowship program in Kentucky. If your program continues past the effective date of your license, you must renew your license on time. Your program may fulfill your continuing education requirements, but does not exempt you from being subject to a continuing education audit.

Student limited license holders may only practice in conjunction with programs of the dental school where they are a student.

Applicants must prove that they meet the requirements of Sections 1 and 4 of 201 KAR 8:530E by submitting the documentation described in the following instruction checklist. Additionally, applicants must submit a signed Statement Regarding Student Licensure Limitations, available below.

Student Limited License Instructions

Statement Regarding Student Licensure Limitations

Faculty Limited Licensure

Faculty limited licensure is available for individuals who have been appointed as faculty at a dental school in the Commonwealth of Kentucky but who do not meet the eligibility requirements for full licensure.

Individuals may apply for faculty limited licensure if they hold a dental degree from a non-CODA accredited institution, if they have not successfully completed the National Board Part I and II examinations, or if they have not successfully​ completed one of the five regional clinical examinations required for licensure by exam.

Faculty limited licenses automatically expire upon your exit from your faculty position. If your appointment continues past the effective date of your license, you must renew your license on time. You are subject to continuing education requirements for the renewal of your license.

Faculty limited license holders may only practice in conjunction with programs of the dental school employing them.

Applicants must prove that they meet the requirements of Sections 1 and 5 of 201 KAR 8:530E by submitting the documentation described in the following instruction checklist. Additionally, applicants must submit a signed Statement Regarding Faculty Licensure Limitations, available below.

Faculty Limited License Instructions

Statement Regarding Faculty Licensure Limitations

Licensure of Foreign Trained Dentists

To be eligible to apply for full licensure as a foreign trained dentist (i.e., trained at a non-CODA accredited institution), you must meet the following requirements with no exceptions:

  • Successfully completed two (2) years of post-graduate training in a CODA accredited general dentistry program
  • Successfully completed Part I and Part II of the National Board Dental Examination
  • Successfully passed within the five (5) years preceding the filing of your application one of the following regional clinical examinations: CITA, CRDTS, CDCA/NERB, SRTA, or WREB

Additionally, you must prove that you meet the requirements of 201 KAR 8:530E Section 6 by submitting the documentation described in the following instruction checklist.

Dental Licensure Instructions - Foreign Trained