2020 Dental Hygiene Renewal
Online renewal for the 2021-22 licensure period is now open and available via the following link. All current dental hygiene licenses will expire on Dec. 31, 2020 and should be renewed by this date.
Renew Dental Hygiene License
Due to COVID-19, Continuing Education requirements for license renewal have been extended for 90 days after the end of year deadline. However, this extension applies only to CE hours, not the license itself. All hygiene licenses must still be renewed by December 31 to avoid a reinstatement penalty.
Practicing Dental Hygiene in Kentucky
The statutes and regulations governing the practice of dental hygiene in the Commonwealth of Kentucky changed on July 15, 2010. The information on this webpage has been updated to reflect new requirements.
In order to practice dental hygiene in Kentucky, you must hold an active dental hygiene license issued by the Kentucky Board of Dentistry. Your current license must be posted in each of your practice locations.
Please use the links below or to the left to obtain more information on how to obtain or renew a Kentucky dental hygiene license, obtain local anesthesia & nitrous oxide certification, obtain general supervision privileges, or obtain a charitable limited dental hygiene license.
Public Health Registered Dental Hygienists
The document below is the dental hygiene regulation which passed successfully through the Administrative Regulation Review Subcommittee July 10, 2012. 201 KAR 8:562 Sec.15
Requirements for Public Health Registered Dental Hygienist Registration
- An individual licensed as a hygienist in Kentucky and not subject to disciplinary action who desires to practice as a public health registered dental hygienist shall:
An individual authorized to practice pursuant to subsection (1) of this section shall receive a certificate from the board indicating registration to practice as a public health registered dental hygienist.
- Submit a completed Public Health Registered Dental Hygienist Application;
- Meet the requirements established in KRS 313.040(8);
- Document through payroll records, employment records, or other proof that is independently verifiable, the dates and hours of employment by a dentist in the practice of dental hygiene that demonstrate the required two (2) years and 3,000 hours of experience; and
- During each renewal cycle, successfully complete a live three (3) hour course that has been approved by the board on the identification and prevention of potential medical emergencies that shall include, at a minimum, the following topics:
- Medical history, including American Society of Anesthesiologists (ASA) classifications of physical status;
- Recognition of common medical emergency situations, symptoms, and possible outcomes;
- Office emergency protocols; and
- Prevention of emergency situations during dental treatments.
- A public health registered dental hygienist desiring to maintain certification as a public health registered dental hygienist shall be required to complete at least five (5) hours of continuing education in the area of public health or public dental health during each renewal cycle.
- Pursuant to KRS 313.040(8)(c), a public health registered dental hygienist may practice in a government-created public health program at the following sites:
- Local health departments;
- Public or private educational institutions that provide Head Start, preschool, elementary and secondary instruction to school aged children under the jurisdiction of the State Board of Education, and that have an affiliation agreement with the health department of jurisdiction;
- Mobile and portable dental health programs under contract with a governing board of health; and
- Public or private institutions under the jurisdiction of a federal, state, or local agency.
- A public health registered dental hygienist shall perform dental hygiene services only under the supervision of the governing board of health, as required by KRS 313.040(3)(b), as established in KRS 313.040(8), and as identified by the Department for Public Health Practice Reference.
- These services shall be limited to preventative services.
- The public health registered dental hygienist shall only treat a patient who is in the ASA Patient Physical Status Classification of ASA I or ASA II as established in the current edition of Guidelines for Teaching Pain Control and Sedation to Dentists and Dental Students, American Dental Association.
- The informed consent shall be required prior to preventative services and shall include:
- The name of the public health entity, including the name of the dentist, that assumes responsibility and control;
- An inquiry as to the current dentist; and
- A statement that services are provided by a dental hygienist without the direct supervision of a dentist.
- This administrative regulation shall not preclude a Kentucky-licensed dentist from directly participating in a public health program referenced in subsection 4(a), (b), (c), or (d) of this subsection.